Rodgers, Wilson among Man of Year candidates in NFL

    One player from all 32
    teams is nominated

    NEW YORK - The Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award has a few ties to Wisconsin this time around.

    The NFL announced its 32 eligible players and among them are both Aaron Rodgers and Russell Wilson.

    Rodgers, of course, plays for Green Bay, while Seattle's Wilson spent his final year of college at the University of Wisconsin.

    Other nominees include Dallas running back DeMarco Murray, San Diego quarterback Phillip Rivers, Kansas City linebacker Tamba Hali, and Carolina linebacker Thomas Davis, who was a finalist last year.

    Named for the late Hall of Fame running back, the award recognizes a player's community service and performance on the field.

    Each team nominates a player, and the NFL Foundation donates $1,000 to a charity of his choice. The three finalists will receive an additional $5,000 contribution. They will be announced next month.

    The winner will receive a $20,000 donation in his name to his favorite charity. The announcement will be made during the NFL Honors show Jan. 31, the night before the Super Bowl in Glendale, Arizona.